Monday, April 25, 2011

Of Cons and Confidence

Hullo all!

This past weekend, I went to Sakuracon with my friends! Woo woo! It was a total blasty blast beyond belief for realz. <3

Lemme break it down for you because it was awesome:


  • Got to cosplay as three of my favorite characters~!

  • Did Speed Dating which was actually really really fun.

  • MET KOTONO MITSUISHI!!!!

  • Obtained a giant Tepig doll, a Sandile plushie keychain, Sailor Moon R: Promise of the Rose in Japanese, a Munna plushie keychain for The Bob, a Pyramid Head wall scroll for The Bob, a Sailor Moon wall scroll for me, a Sailor Moon pencil case for my older sister, and a couple other things that I can't remember off the top of my head. (Mostly delicious fruit gummies)

  • Entered a Just Dance 2 competition (lost, but whatever)

  • Went to the Sailor Moon panel which was THE BOMB!

  • Preordered my copies of Codename: Sailor V and Sailor Moon mangas that come out in September!

  • Met a lot of cute guys and got some numbers! <3

  • Danced like crazy as Ulala!!!

  • Ended up in near-sobbing tears on the last day because of fatigue and disappointment.
Okay, time for the serious explanation:

On Friday, I was C.C. from Code Geass. I was practically swarmed with people pointing and taking pictures of me.
"LOOK! IT'S C.C.! OMG! C.C.!"

I was on an internet television show. Half the time I was really confused what the hosts that were interviewing me were saying because they would talk to each other in Japanese. So I awkwardly showed them all my stuff I had purchased. LIKE BOMBERMAN 64! OMGOMGOMG! Soooo freaking excited about that. For realzies times one thousand to a million and a half times!

I GOT KOTONO MITSUISHI'S AUTOGRAPH! OMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMG! It was the most exciting thing I've ever had the amazing ability to experience ever! ...I don't even know if that sentence made sense. I'm still rather tired from this weekend so my ability to write is slightly compromised.

Either way, I told Kotono that the moment I was getting her autograph was the best ever. Her translator told her that and her response was that she was honored. <3

It made me giddy for the entire rest of the day.

The Bob and I went to the Sailor Moon panel. I was absolutely giddy about being in a room with a bunch of Sailor Moon nerds like me. But, I felt outdone because I don't know any of the voice actors names and that's who we talked about most of the time. I was totally lost for most of it. Gotta get on that learning thing. XD MORE KNOWLEDGE TO GET!

During the panel, Peter texted us and told us about the Just Dance 2 competition going on in the game room. I was only slightly excited about it since I've kinda been out of practice since Peter beat me beating my score on the Jackson 5 song. We went back to Yeoung-Hee's apartment (She's totally awesome for letting us stay there this weekend!), and played Just Dance for practice.

After Peter totally owned me every single time (grumble grumble), I decided it just wasn't a competition I wanted to enter. Plus, I had like ten or twenty (and by ten or twenty, I mean three or four) panels I wanted to go to, so I just wasn't going to enter in it. Whatever.


On Saturday, I wanted to wake up early, get all dressed up in my Ulala outfit and be at the con by nine-thirty because there was another autograph session with Kotono Mitsuishi and I'm an autograph-grubbing greedy greedy piggyface! ...only not. The second autograph was going to be for my sister.

Alas, my ride to the con from Yeoung's apartment (coughcoughpetercough) didn't want to wake up and get ready in time for us to go. So, I missed out on that opportunity. It was sort of a bummer to the max, yo.

Either way, getting there by noon would be the best, right? Especially since there was a Q&A with Kotono at noon that I REALLY wanted to go to! And we got there with seven minutes to spare for me to book it to the sixth floor, sit down, and enjoy nerding out to someone I absolutely admire.
...alas, we had to drive around with Peter for thirty freaking minutes looking for parking until we finally got dropped off and missed nearly the entire panel.

Whatever. That's only two of the panels I wanted to go to that I've missed completely and will never be able to attend again in my lifetime. I'm totally not bitter about it or anything. (Only I am a little, but whatever.)

Still, we got there in time for Speed Dating. <3

Two hours of listening to myself talk about myself and forgetting completely to ask questions about the guys that were looking for someone to cuddle. LMAO, I suck. XD

I did, however, get a couple of numbers out of the deal. <3<3<3 And the guys whose numbers I got? Super cute. And SUPER nice too.

One guy, Clayton, was like a less intense John Frost. He was the first guy I talked to. And he came back at the end and gave me a hug. Super nice guy. Saw him at the dance later that night. He told me he gave a tranny midget a piggyback ride and danced around with him on his back. XD Good stuff. For realz.

I will tell you, though, two and a half minutes is not enough time to make a lasting impression attached to a name. XP

I remember all these guys and their faces and the awesome things they said in order to make me ask for their contact information. ...however, I don't remember which name belongs to which face. I actually feel really really bad about it. I'm such a jerk sometimes. XD

The ones with last names, I'm going to attempt to find on facebook because I really am the sucks at talking on the phone so it'd be easier that way. lol

So, the two questions I got asked the most were:


  1. Who are you? Ulala from Space Channel 5. It's a rhythm dancing game.

  2. Are you going to the dance tonight? Well, sure. Hadn't really planned on it, but now I will.

And especially since the next thing I had planned to do was with The Bob at 11 at night, the dance sounded like a fun way to pass the time. Plus: I'm Ulala! When have I ever lost at dancing? (Ignoring the fact that I lost at the Just Dance competition. Shush.)


When I showed up at the dance with Peter and The Bob, I was slightly underwhelmed by the music. It was okay at best. They definitely needed some more dancey-dancey beats and less dancey-stop-for-a-second-dancey-waitaminute-dancey-is-this-another-meme-song-dance-dance-stop music. It really threw off my dancing groove. For realzies times a million.


BUT, I still had tons of fun! And Ren bought me a glowstick. AND I saw this one guy I knew from high school that I always kinda thought was cute, but neither of us really paid the other any mind unless we were in a group together in class. Either way, he was shirtless and I was like "Damn. He's still pretty good-looking."
It was great.


So, when The Bob and I left for the Read or Die OVA thing at eleven, we discovered that it had been pushed back until 11:30, so we headed back to the dance to get our boogie on for a little longer.
And Peter asked me to help him repark his car because our parking was only good until midnight and the OVA went until one.
So, I went with him.


I dunno if any of you have driven around, looking for parking, with an easy to irritate guy before, but it's not very fun. Luckily, after thirty minutes to an hour of driving around in circles and being extremely unsuccessful, we found parking and I booked it back up to the sixth floor to sit with The Bob in an extremely tired and sore stupor and watch what was left of his Read or Die OVA thing.

We were both exhausted and ended up leaving early. XD


By the time we got back to the apartment, the three of us were sooooo exhausted that The Bob and Peter just literally crashed on the floor, which is what I would've done if I hadn't had to get all the freaking pink hairspray out of my hair. HOLY CRAP! It took an extra thirty minutes just to do that and then blowdry my hair so I didn't go to bed with it sopping wet. XD



On Sunday, we slept in. I decided when my alarm went off at seven in the morning to tell me to get ready for the last early morning panel I wanted to go to and I could barely move, that it really wasn't worth it to drag myself into a sleep-deprived heap of getting-ready-ness.
Also, I was so sore I couldn't stand to move my legs. XD Freaking dancing/walking/stuff. XD


Besides, my last panel was at 2 in the afternoon and we could make it there in plenty of time!


...why am I always mistaken?


So, Peter finally got up at eleven, RUSHED to the convention center to take one last swing at the Just Dance competition (he took 2nd when it was all said and done! Woo woo!), and made it back to the apartment by one o'clock. PLENTY of time to make it to my panel.


But, he had to shower and The Bob had to shower and everyone still had to get ready.
So, when my alarm went off to tell me that there was only fifteen minutes until the VERY LAST panel I wanted to go to started, I might've started to lose the last of my composure.


That added on to the fact that I was dead tired equals emotional breakdown eminent! Because when you're tired, your barrier between "keeping a happy face on" and "breaking down into a pile of smooshy tears" is generally VERY VERY low.


I managed to keep from breaking down completely until Ren, Yeoung, and Darla left the apartment and we were all alone.


(Also: I learned later that there was a miscommunication in the "What Time Does Maddie's Panel Start?" area and Peter genuinely thought that we'd already missed it by the time he'd returned from the Just Dance competition.)


Either way, we got ready, went to the Exhibitors' Hall, and got our shop on!


Me more so than The Bob and Peter because I was comfort shopping. A very bad habit that I have and am trying to break myself of. However, I made an exception for myself that day and blew close to 200 dollars on random paraphernalia that I deemed worthy of riding home with me.


Including, but not limited to:



  • A GIANT Tepig plushie that I affectionately named Theodore after my Tepig in the game <3

  • A Sandile and a Munna plushie keychain for me and The Bob respectively.

  • Sailor Moon R: Promise of the Rose (English Subbed Version) because it's the only Sailor Moon movie I didn't own already.

  • A Pyramid Head wall scroll for The Bob because he mentioned he wanted it on the first day, but he didn't have any money for it by the last day and I was feeling nice despite being in an "I hate you all" sort of mood.

  • Kiwi gummy candies (made with REAL KIWI!) because I'm a candy hoarder!

  • A C.C. drinking glass! To go with my Sailor Moon drinking glasses! YAY! MORE DRINKING IMPLEMENTS FOR WHEN I FINALLY MOVE OUT!

And I still had enough money to spend for when we ventured over to Uwajimaya later! MORE GUMMY CANDIES OFF THE STARBOARD BOW, CAP'N! FRUIT FLAVORS AHOY!


So, after I blew most of my money and Peter found me again, I left the Exhibitors' Hall and waited with the group for Kevin to show up because he had my purse with all my meds and stuff in it. XD


Then we went to Uwajimaya. And I stocked up for the next year and a half on delicious fruit gummies and Calpico. Glorious, glorious Calpico that never ever goes flat. <3
(I also bought those delicious Botan Rice Candies that my older sister and I used to get when we were younger! I LOVE THOSE THINGS!)


So, with my ridiculously unhealthy bounty in hand, we left Uwajimaya (with no charge in parking too! It's the first time I've ever been thanked for impulse shopping!).


And thus began the long ride home in which I slept! But only for an hour and not very well.
Piita Bread apparently took a picture of me when I was sleeping. XP


When we finally arrived home, I was about ready to collapse in a pool of tears and fatigue, but I managed to (with the help of Peter) carry all my things upstairs, eat something actually substantial that wasn't Japanese food, Subway, or Chipotle, and nearly burst into tears telling my stepmom about how I missed 85% of the panels I planned on going to.
(There was also a moment where I nearly cried telling Peter that I was super bummed about how not a single person took a picture of me in my Jasmine outfit... T_T It was not a good Sunday.)


Then, I promptly collapsed on my bed and slept until three the next day.


Well, since this has been one hella long post and I've been writing it for three days, I'm going to finally end this and let you all go back to your lives of not reading my blog posts. XD


TTFN,
Queen Madz


PS,
Despite all the letdowns, I still had a major super awesome time. <3 And we saw some phenomenal cosplayers while we were there. Mad props to the people who can figure that stuff out.

No comments: