Sunday, March 29, 2009

Of Winning and Woes

We totally rocked that picket yesterday! :D

It was cold, rainy, and downright miserable outside, but we remained standing across from the Meineke with our signs, waving frantically as cars passed by and honked.

Also, I sent an email out to five or six new organizations in the area and two of them were actually on their way to see what was going on.

Needless to say, when the news stations called the Meineke, the Meineke people when suddenly a whole lot nicer and trying their hardest to resolve the issue before the news arrived.

Success.

The owner of the entire branch drove an hour down from Molalla to deliver a public apologize to Frost. :D We so rock. Frost said I made it all possible.

Not only was our picket a success, but we also got several people who would stop by and tell us their stories of how Meineke had done similar things to them. The feedback was astounding. We also got free hot chocolate from the Burgerville next to the Meineke. It was awesome.

In other news:
My dad lost his job. I'm so super sad right now. Luckily for him, I'm going to be getting student loans to help pay for my college so he won't have to worry about it. I don't want to add that much stress on him.

Now I can only hope that he can find another job that he'll rock at as well. My dad is pretty stellar and I worry about him a lot. This is a pretty sucky time in life.

I'm going to do my best to make it easier on my dad so that he can do his best. Furthermore, I will refuse to be downbeat about it. I REFUSE TO BE SAD! I have to carry the happy torch. No pessimism from Maddie.

So, to distract myself, I will tell you about how I'm going to Sakuracon with my friends in a couple of weeks.

Sakuracon:
I had no money to go, but Beana, Mindy, and Frost all pitched in so that I could join them. I'm super excited about it because I have such awesome friends.
The only thing I find annoying is the fact that we're going to be sharing a room with two other people, one is Kayla (who I'm not too happy with) and the other is Clara (who is just plain annoying).

Y'know how there are those people who just talk and talk and talk about themselves all the time? That's Clara. Every single thing you say could relate back to her.
"My spleen just gave out. I might die."
"That reminds me of when I almost died in the apartment I used to...blah blah blah"

It's so annoying.

As for Kayla...well...she's kinda shallow. I feel like she makes herself have an opinion on everything, but she doesn't really have an opinion on anything. I feel like I'm talking to someone who feels like they know a lot, but they don't. Like talking to a 10-year-old.

That's really all I have to say for now. Until next time!

Toodles,
Maddie