Saturday, October 01, 2011
Of Work and Woes
That is, if my connection stays stable. It appears to be very shoddy, but our Internet always has been in this house.
From the day we set up our first wifi connection, we've had issues with our modem going in and out.
Luckily, I have work to distract me from the sinister goings-on of the world wide web.
Ever since we got our new managers, I've been working pretty steady hours. And now that the Christmas season is in full swing, I'll be getting more and more hours! YES! I love being loved at my work. Also, every single one of my coworkers are absolutely amazing. I feel like they make my job that much more enjoyable. :) It's absolutely wonderful.
I don't even mind coming home covered in glitter! Although, glitter itches like a BITCH! Seriously. No, joke.
Although, I have other parts of my life that aren't nearly as rosy.
I'm trying so very hard to get my driver's license. I've had to jump through eight million hoops.
I'm starting to think I might be an alien. Like...from outer space. Because I need every possible form of identification to prove that I'm actually a US citizen. Including, but not limited to, my birth certificate, my social security card, and my high school yearbook.
...next they'll be asking for my blood for DNA testing or some crap like that.
Thank you, DOL. Thank you for making my tiny scramble for freedom nearly impossible. *sigh*
Not only that, but with my slightly over minimum wage job, it's making it nearly impossible for me to move out of my rents' house.
Luckily, thanks to my lovely friends, Mr. Edgley and Mr. Breimon, I have future roommates. :D
I now just have to save up enough money to actually move in with them.
...and I need to find a second job.
AUGH! Woe is me!
Actually, it's not that bad. Just another real life struggle in the life of a fairly normal Maddie. It's helping me build character. :D
BOOYAKA!
Toodles,
Queen Madz
Thursday, May 19, 2011
Of Salt N' Pepa
They merely looked at the world and uttered the lyric "Let's talk about sex."
So, why not? Let's talk about it.
I shall begin with a little factoid about myself:
I have never had sex. I'm abstinent. And I plan to be until I am married.
'Nuff said.
However, this doesn't mean that I don't think about it, want it, or participate in activities that teeter on the precipice of sex.
Hey, I'm human after all, aren't I?
Unfortunately for me, my inexperience with the subject puts me in a rather awkward spot when it comes to innocent sexy times with a significant other.
Personally, I'm much more comfortable cuddling up and watching a movie with my guy than I am getting down and dirty, exploring the unknowns of life as it were.
Maybe I'm destined to be gay or something. XD My stepmother tells me that I'm looking for a girl if I want that kind of tame relationship. Ha.
I must say, I find it rather unfortunate that guys (or at least the ones that I've encountered) are unwilling to pursue that kind of a simplistic relationship. I realize that it's a need. And I'm not saying that I don't have that need, cause I do. I'm just saying that it would be nice to not be constantly pestered with said need.
It's exceedingly tiresome.
Also, just a little thing I've figured out:
Not being pursued all the time makes me want to pursue.
Sure, I may not be as gung-ho and active as a guy, but that doesn't mean that a little bit of downtime won't cause some need to build up, ya know?
I'm all for getting to know one another. It's fun on a bun. No joke. BUT, I don't want a rushing whirl of lusty emotions and BAM! A big finish.
That's what action movie trailers are for.
I like things to linger. Full-length feature film.
Hook, rising action (har har no pun intended), plot development, tension, tension, climax, nice cuddly denouement.
Fact.
~Queen Madz
Wednesday, May 18, 2011
Of Lawyers and Love
Six months. Six months of convincing someone that being with you is the one thing that makes the most sense out of anything else in your existence. No dice.
Two weeks away and they decide you are finally something special. Something beautiful and amazing. That the effort it would take to be in a relationship would be actually rewarding and possibly wonderful.
...Too bad you've moved on.
Too bad you've decided that you're exhausted from all the persuasion.
You're done fighting.
It's finished.
You know what the absolute worst part is though?
Wanting the person to fight for you. Like you fought for them...
It's almost like you're daring them. "Come on. Prove it. What did two weeks show you? Do you wanna be with me because you think I'm someone you want to spend your life with? Or because you're lonely? And I was the only one who cared?"
So, please, prove to me your feelings are true. Show me that you really want my love. Persuade me into trusting you again.
Convince me.
Just like I tried to convince you.
For six months.
-Queen Madz
Monday, April 25, 2011
Of Cons and Confidence
This past weekend, I went to Sakuracon with my friends! Woo woo! It was a total blasty blast beyond belief for realz. <3
Lemme break it down for you because it was awesome:
- Got to cosplay as three of my favorite characters~!
- Did Speed Dating which was actually really really fun.
- MET KOTONO MITSUISHI!!!!
- Obtained a giant Tepig doll, a Sandile plushie keychain, Sailor Moon R: Promise of the Rose in Japanese, a Munna plushie keychain for The Bob, a Pyramid Head wall scroll for The Bob, a Sailor Moon wall scroll for me, a Sailor Moon pencil case for my older sister, and a couple other things that I can't remember off the top of my head. (Mostly delicious fruit gummies)
- Entered a Just Dance 2 competition (lost, but whatever)
- Went to the Sailor Moon panel which was THE BOMB!
- Preordered my copies of Codename: Sailor V and Sailor Moon mangas that come out in September!
- Met a lot of cute guys and got some numbers! <3
- Danced like crazy as Ulala!!!
- Ended up in near-sobbing tears on the last day because of fatigue and disappointment.
On Friday, I was C.C. from Code Geass. I was practically swarmed with people pointing and taking pictures of me.
"LOOK! IT'S C.C.! OMG! C.C.!"
I was on an internet television show. Half the time I was really confused what the hosts that were interviewing me were saying because they would talk to each other in Japanese. So I awkwardly showed them all my stuff I had purchased. LIKE BOMBERMAN 64! OMGOMGOMG! Soooo freaking excited about that. For realzies times one thousand to a million and a half times!
I GOT KOTONO MITSUISHI'S AUTOGRAPH! OMGOMGOMGOMGOMGOMG! It was the most exciting thing I've ever had the amazing ability to experience ever! ...I don't even know if that sentence made sense. I'm still rather tired from this weekend so my ability to write is slightly compromised.
Either way, I told Kotono that the moment I was getting her autograph was the best ever. Her translator told her that and her response was that she was honored. <3
It made me giddy for the entire rest of the day.
The Bob and I went to the Sailor Moon panel. I was absolutely giddy about being in a room with a bunch of Sailor Moon nerds like me. But, I felt outdone because I don't know any of the voice actors names and that's who we talked about most of the time. I was totally lost for most of it. Gotta get on that learning thing. XD MORE KNOWLEDGE TO GET!
During the panel, Peter texted us and told us about the Just Dance 2 competition going on in the game room. I was only slightly excited about it since I've kinda been out of practice since Peter beat me beating my score on the Jackson 5 song. We went back to Yeoung-Hee's apartment (She's totally awesome for letting us stay there this weekend!), and played Just Dance for practice.
After Peter totally owned me every single time (grumble grumble), I decided it just wasn't a competition I wanted to enter. Plus, I had like ten or twenty (and by ten or twenty, I mean three or four) panels I wanted to go to, so I just wasn't going to enter in it. Whatever.
On Saturday, I wanted to wake up early, get all dressed up in my Ulala outfit and be at the con by nine-thirty because there was another autograph session with Kotono Mitsuishi and I'm an autograph-grubbing greedy greedy piggyface! ...only not. The second autograph was going to be for my sister.
Alas, my ride to the con from Yeoung's apartment (coughcoughpetercough) didn't want to wake up and get ready in time for us to go. So, I missed out on that opportunity. It was sort of a bummer to the max, yo.
Either way, getting there by noon would be the best, right? Especially since there was a Q&A with Kotono at noon that I REALLY wanted to go to! And we got there with seven minutes to spare for me to book it to the sixth floor, sit down, and enjoy nerding out to someone I absolutely admire.
...alas, we had to drive around with Peter for thirty freaking minutes looking for parking until we finally got dropped off and missed nearly the entire panel.
Whatever. That's only two of the panels I wanted to go to that I've missed completely and will never be able to attend again in my lifetime. I'm totally not bitter about it or anything. (Only I am a little, but whatever.)
Still, we got there in time for Speed Dating. <3
Two hours of listening to myself talk about myself and forgetting completely to ask questions about the guys that were looking for someone to cuddle. LMAO, I suck. XD
I did, however, get a couple of numbers out of the deal. <3<3<3 And the guys whose numbers I got? Super cute. And SUPER nice too.
One guy, Clayton, was like a less intense John Frost. He was the first guy I talked to. And he came back at the end and gave me a hug. Super nice guy. Saw him at the dance later that night. He told me he gave a tranny midget a piggyback ride and danced around with him on his back. XD Good stuff. For realz.
I will tell you, though, two and a half minutes is not enough time to make a lasting impression attached to a name. XP
I remember all these guys and their faces and the awesome things they said in order to make me ask for their contact information. ...however, I don't remember which name belongs to which face. I actually feel really really bad about it. I'm such a jerk sometimes. XD
The ones with last names, I'm going to attempt to find on facebook because I really am the sucks at talking on the phone so it'd be easier that way. lol
So, the two questions I got asked the most were:
- Who are you? Ulala from Space Channel 5. It's a rhythm dancing game.
- Are you going to the dance tonight? Well, sure. Hadn't really planned on it, but now I will.
And especially since the next thing I had planned to do was with The Bob at 11 at night, the dance sounded like a fun way to pass the time. Plus: I'm Ulala! When have I ever lost at dancing? (Ignoring the fact that I lost at the Just Dance competition. Shush.)
When I showed up at the dance with Peter and The Bob, I was slightly underwhelmed by the music. It was okay at best. They definitely needed some more dancey-dancey beats and less dancey-stop-for-a-second-dancey-waitaminute-dancey-is-this-another-meme-song-dance-dance-stop music. It really threw off my dancing groove. For realzies times a million.
BUT, I still had tons of fun! And Ren bought me a glowstick. AND I saw this one guy I knew from high school that I always kinda thought was cute, but neither of us really paid the other any mind unless we were in a group together in class. Either way, he was shirtless and I was like "Damn. He's still pretty good-looking."
It was great.
So, when The Bob and I left for the Read or Die OVA thing at eleven, we discovered that it had been pushed back until 11:30, so we headed back to the dance to get our boogie on for a little longer.
And Peter asked me to help him repark his car because our parking was only good until midnight and the OVA went until one.
So, I went with him.
I dunno if any of you have driven around, looking for parking, with an easy to irritate guy before, but it's not very fun. Luckily, after thirty minutes to an hour of driving around in circles and being extremely unsuccessful, we found parking and I booked it back up to the sixth floor to sit with The Bob in an extremely tired and sore stupor and watch what was left of his Read or Die OVA thing.
We were both exhausted and ended up leaving early. XD
By the time we got back to the apartment, the three of us were sooooo exhausted that The Bob and Peter just literally crashed on the floor, which is what I would've done if I hadn't had to get all the freaking pink hairspray out of my hair. HOLY CRAP! It took an extra thirty minutes just to do that and then blowdry my hair so I didn't go to bed with it sopping wet. XD
On Sunday, we slept in. I decided when my alarm went off at seven in the morning to tell me to get ready for the last early morning panel I wanted to go to and I could barely move, that it really wasn't worth it to drag myself into a sleep-deprived heap of getting-ready-ness.
Also, I was so sore I couldn't stand to move my legs. XD Freaking dancing/walking/stuff. XD
Besides, my last panel was at 2 in the afternoon and we could make it there in plenty of time!
...why am I always mistaken?
So, Peter finally got up at eleven, RUSHED to the convention center to take one last swing at the Just Dance competition (he took 2nd when it was all said and done! Woo woo!), and made it back to the apartment by one o'clock. PLENTY of time to make it to my panel.
But, he had to shower and The Bob had to shower and everyone still had to get ready.
So, when my alarm went off to tell me that there was only fifteen minutes until the VERY LAST panel I wanted to go to started, I might've started to lose the last of my composure.
That added on to the fact that I was dead tired equals emotional breakdown eminent! Because when you're tired, your barrier between "keeping a happy face on" and "breaking down into a pile of smooshy tears" is generally VERY VERY low.
I managed to keep from breaking down completely until Ren, Yeoung, and Darla left the apartment and we were all alone.
(Also: I learned later that there was a miscommunication in the "What Time Does Maddie's Panel Start?" area and Peter genuinely thought that we'd already missed it by the time he'd returned from the Just Dance competition.)
Either way, we got ready, went to the Exhibitors' Hall, and got our shop on!
Me more so than The Bob and Peter because I was comfort shopping. A very bad habit that I have and am trying to break myself of. However, I made an exception for myself that day and blew close to 200 dollars on random paraphernalia that I deemed worthy of riding home with me.
Including, but not limited to:
- A GIANT Tepig plushie that I affectionately named Theodore after my Tepig in the game <3
- A Sandile and a Munna plushie keychain for me and The Bob respectively.
- Sailor Moon R: Promise of the Rose (English Subbed Version) because it's the only Sailor Moon movie I didn't own already.
- A Pyramid Head wall scroll for The Bob because he mentioned he wanted it on the first day, but he didn't have any money for it by the last day and I was feeling nice despite being in an "I hate you all" sort of mood.
- Kiwi gummy candies (made with REAL KIWI!) because I'm a candy hoarder!
- A C.C. drinking glass! To go with my Sailor Moon drinking glasses! YAY! MORE DRINKING IMPLEMENTS FOR WHEN I FINALLY MOVE OUT!
And I still had enough money to spend for when we ventured over to Uwajimaya later! MORE GUMMY CANDIES OFF THE STARBOARD BOW, CAP'N! FRUIT FLAVORS AHOY!
So, after I blew most of my money and Peter found me again, I left the Exhibitors' Hall and waited with the group for Kevin to show up because he had my purse with all my meds and stuff in it. XD
Then we went to Uwajimaya. And I stocked up for the next year and a half on delicious fruit gummies and Calpico. Glorious, glorious Calpico that never ever goes flat. <3
(I also bought those delicious Botan Rice Candies that my older sister and I used to get when we were younger! I LOVE THOSE THINGS!)
So, with my ridiculously unhealthy bounty in hand, we left Uwajimaya (with no charge in parking too! It's the first time I've ever been thanked for impulse shopping!).
And thus began the long ride home in which I slept! But only for an hour and not very well.
Piita Bread apparently took a picture of me when I was sleeping. XP
When we finally arrived home, I was about ready to collapse in a pool of tears and fatigue, but I managed to (with the help of Peter) carry all my things upstairs, eat something actually substantial that wasn't Japanese food, Subway, or Chipotle, and nearly burst into tears telling my stepmom about how I missed 85% of the panels I planned on going to.
(There was also a moment where I nearly cried telling Peter that I was super bummed about how not a single person took a picture of me in my Jasmine outfit... T_T It was not a good Sunday.)
Then, I promptly collapsed on my bed and slept until three the next day.
Well, since this has been one hella long post and I've been writing it for three days, I'm going to finally end this and let you all go back to your lives of not reading my blog posts. XD
TTFN,
Queen Madz
PS,
Despite all the letdowns, I still had a major super awesome time. <3 And we saw some phenomenal cosplayers while we were there. Mad props to the people who can figure that stuff out.