I wrote a movie review on the movie Zeitgeist. You guys can comment and say what you wish. A little scholarly discussion is always good.
The only thing I have to say about this movie is that my dear sister, Kelcey, is being horrible misguided by it.
Without further ado, here's my review::
March 11, 2009
Zeitgeist (2007)
Zeitgeist is a documentary that tries in vain to prove to the world that we are all just brainless sheep following a shepherd that feeds us healthy little lies so we will continue to live our lives in the dark confines of the media and government-controlled happy land we call the world today. First of all, unless you are used to staring a a blank screen with nothing but the monotonous voice of a “scholarly” source droning on and on for fifteen minutes, you'll find yourself bashing your head into the wall before the title of the movie splashes across the screen in a very anticlimactic “I think you just put me into a second coma” sort of way. Lucky for you, if you've made it far enough into the movie to actually start seeing a movie play out across the screen, the creator of this horrid documentary will bombard you with an onslaught of “facts” to sway you from any religious beliefs you may have. Not only is the information to disprove the credibility of the Christian religion (and any religion similar to it) wrong, but the information about the religion being debunked is also incorrect. The documentarian suggests that Jesus is the Christian personification of the sun, aka that big ball of gas that keeps us warm. He goes on to discuss how the “Sun of God” is an astrological reference. Jesus had twelve disciples that directly relate to the twelve signs in the western zodiac and all this other anti-authority, freethink propaganda that sounds quite convincing when you first watch the movie. However, the more you pay attention to the facts being presented and the more you actually think about the information, you begin to realize that you've been duped by someone with a computer, some “new age” thoughts about life, some money, and a semi-decent editing program. One of the falsities that the movie presents as fact is that Jesus Christ was born on the 25th of December. HA! No, he wasn't. The Christian religion moved Jesus' birth to December 25th so that they could be in line with the Pagan holidays that were happening at the same time. The fundamental argument made by the film's creator is discredited just by having this one fact incorrect.
The movie goes on to explain to you how the 9/11 tragedy was a completely staged hoax. After all, there is no possible way for terrorists to infiltrate our soil and kill thousands of Americans with them. No. That's just ridiculous. The only possible explanation for something like that happening on American soil is that the American government set it all up and killed its own people so that they could justify a war to “protect” us, right? Wrong. Not that I don't agree with some of the points presented in this part of the movie. The laws being put into place to deal with terrorists and the such are nothing short of ridiculous and I agree that there are probably better ways to deal with these issues at hand. But, come on. Even if 9/11 was a sham set up by the government, it would be foolish to not even consider the possibility that outside organizations did this. For all the nonbelievers, they can take peace in the idea that even if a terrorist organization was responsible, they probably got all of their funded and weapons from the arms dealers that sell out-of-use weapons in America to foreign organizations that are willing to pay the price.
The third part of this movie rambles on about how the world will eventually become one government and control not only the lives of everyone in the world, but also their money. According to the film, Americans are already in constant debt because the interest on the money they take from the banks is so steep that there is no possible way to pay it off unless you borrow more money, putting you into more debt. In fact, the only people who are actually profiting from this horrible cycle are the bankers. The only thing I found myself thinking during this part of the movie was “I wonder what it take to become a banker”. Because, honestly, if they are the only ones “making bank” as it were, then why not become one? Furthermore, who doesn't like handling money all the time?
The end of the documentary does a semi-adequate job of summing up everything it just wasted two hours of your life spewing at you. All and all, the movie is like a badly written paper by some English 102 student who wants nothing more than for the quarter to be over rather than have to endure another revision of the ten pages of utter speculation that they half-heartedly researched for eleven weeks. I found myself staring dumbfounded at the screen for a good two minutes after the movie was over. After all the hype I had heard from friends and family about how this movie was a genuine piece of documentary heaven, I found myself completely and utterly baffled as to how people I considered to be educated could watch something like this and not laugh at the absurdness of it all.
The people who watch this movie, following every word blindly, and change their entire philosophy on life should probably taken out to the pasture and dealt with because they are the runts of the herd. By completely buying into this two hours of shameless propaganda against the United States government, they are no more different than the other sheep in the world that follow the government. The only difference between the two is that the people who buy into Zeitgeist are following absolutely baseless speculation made by a conspiracy theorist. I feel like I've insulted myself by having watched a piece of sheer garbage such as this.
Until Next Time,
~Maddie
No comments:
Post a Comment