Tuesday, February 03, 2009

Of Schoolwork and Sanity

Helllooooo! I must first apologize that it's been so long since I last updated this blog. I've been swamped by life in general and haven't really had the motivation to document it.

So, where to begin...

School! How about there?

Journalism:
I absolutely hate this class. I mean, I love the teacher because she's super affable and I feel like I can talk to her, however, I don't like journalism at all. At least...I don't like hard news journalism.
My first article is about how the feud between the anime club and Realm Runners at the college is becoming such an issue that both clubs could lose their charters due to the reckless behaviours of some of the members. BUT, apparently, my article doesn't have a conflict that is needed for a hard news story. And, if the conflict is that they don't like each other, then I need to find a new story. It's a total load of crap. Oh gee, I'm sorry that I don't have access to random hard news stories that I can absolutely wow you with! I'm only a college freshman with no car and a crapload of other things to worry about. I'm sorry my attempt at a hard news story isn't conflicting enough for you! Geez.
Also, I feel so out of place in that class. We had to go to an art gallery for an assignment and the next class, the entire class said that they hated the exhibit and feel like it was hard to explain the art there because it was so uninteresting. Also, apparently the artists were pretentious and rude.
I LOVED the artwork. I thought it was one of the most interesting displays I'd ever seen. Apparently, I'm the only one.
And then, we were talking about how my teacher's 19 month old was watching Puppy Bowl on Animal Planet during Superbowl Sunday and someone thought she was going to say that her 19 YEAR old was watching it. She then proceeded to say "If a 19 year old was watching Puppy Bowl, then there is something wrong with them."
I felt horrible because I'm 18 years old and I'd love to watch Puppy Bowl. The dogs are so freaking cute! But, apparently there is something wrong with me.
Needless to say, I'm definitely not enjoying the class as much as I thought I would.

English 102:
Fun fun fun! My teacher is so freaking nice and fun. She's teaching me things about writing that I had no idea about. I'm thinking on a completely different plane than I was before this. Furthermore, I rediscovered the library. Dude...did you know that at my college library, if you can't find the material you need in the library, you can get books from other libraries in the area? THAT IS SO FREAKING COOL!
Also, books smell good. :3

Math 095:
God, I hate factoring trinomials. Furthermore, I hate factoring in general. I can do it...but that doesn't mean I like it. ALSO, fractional exponentials are cool. I never thought I'd like something math related, but I like fractional exponentials even though I was having a wicked crippling stomach cramp whilst learning about them.
Lesson learned: Eat abundantly before going to a three-hour long class.

Cardio Kickboxing:
I FEEL SO GREAT! This class gets me pumped and I'm always tired after it. And yet, I wanna go out running or something after each class. It makes no sense whatsoever. I'm so ready to punch somebody in the face and have it hurt. It's so awesome. And the teacher is awesome too. Oh my god. I wish I'd known about this class before. It's like...whoa.

Ummm...what else is there to talk about? OH! Sanity. Let's try this on for size: My sister has none left.

Sometimes you see people making stupid decisions and you just wanna smack them upside the head and go "What the hell are you thinking?! Get your head on straight!"
That is definitely something I wish I could do to my older sister. She's just not making great decisions recently. She's got her head on backward and she's following the ideals of a documentary that I've heard everyone talk about called Zeitgeist. The thing she doesn't realize is that the freaking documentary doesn't even have all of its facts right.

Beana has the best description of documentaries like Zeitgeist:
"These people watched these documentaries that say 'THE GOVERNMENT IS EVIL! DON'T LISTEN TO THEM AND THEIR LIES! LISTEN TO US!' And the people listen to these conspiracy theorists and their documentaries when they have even less backing and basis than the "government conspiracies" that they are supposedly warning you about. It's like..."don't put your trust in the government because you shouldn't trust a single large group of people just because they say so! You should trust us because we say so!" and that doesn't bring up a red flag with anyone...That's stupid."


I wholeheartedly agree.

And on that note, I need to actually go and finish the homework that I am so desperately behind on. :3

Toodles,
Maddie

No comments: