It seems almost like it didn't even happen for me. I mean, this was the first Halloween in which I've been thrown into a proverbial lion's den of drama. And when I say "drama", I mean drama in the most ridiculous sense.
First off, it was my friend's birthday on Halloween. Therefore, the Halloween party we were invited to was also a birthday party. Now, this party was one of those "We say RSVP-only merely because we want to weed out the people we hate who accidentally found out about this party" parties, which never end well because someone who wasn't invited always finds out and gets hurt.
This time I had the unfortunate fortune (that sounds funny, but I can't think of how else to phrase it) of being stuck in the middle with Beana.
Basically, a good friend of mine has been bumping heads with people at the table and hasn't really been trying to resolve the issues, thus making others mad as well. Now, my other friend (who I will call birthday friend) didn't invite my good friend (who will now be referred to as distraught friend) to his party, but distraught friend didn't know that she wasn't invited to birthday friend's party. She RSVP'd and talked to birthday friend and thought everything was cool because birthday friend seemed cool with it. However, when distraught friend showed up at birthday friend's party, birthday friend got pissed and rather than deal with it like the now-21-year-old man that he is, birthday friend went and hid in his closet because he was pissy about distraught friend showing up.
Thus, distraught friend started sobbing because birthday friend is a douche bag.
Way. To. Go.
Distraught friend had to have her mother come pick her up so she could go home and feel horrible for the rest of the evening. Birthday friend came and apologized to Beana and me later that night, but we were still pretty pissed at the fact that he had to be such a freaking prima donna about it. I mean...seriously. Be a man about your problems! Don't hide in your closet because you're too much of a pussy to confront someone about the issues you have with them. Geez.
That was interesting/sucky point numero uno of the evening.
Interesting point numero dos was when my really awesome gay friend, Ren, randomly made-out with my "could've sworn you weren't gay" friend (who I will call "Carter" for this story). Anyhow, not much to this one aside from the whole fact that I have the entire thing on video and "Carter" had to spend the rest of the evening flirting with Beana, Mindy, and I to reaffirm his manliness. Poor guy was so confused.
On another note, I was a drowned girl for Halloween. I was my "Sweet Dreams" character Ofelia. For those of you who don't know, Sweet Dreams is a tabletop RPG that I play at my college. The campaign I'm in is currently on mega-hiatus (aka it's been on hiatus since February-ish) until December because our GM (gamemaster for those non-nerds) has like quabajillion and a half Literature courses that she's taking so she's SWAMPED. That's ok though because I love her muchly. She was super excited about my costume on Halloween. She kept getting pictures of me and told me that I made her happy. Mission accomplished! :D
This would be me on Halloween. :D YAY DROWNED GIRL!Ofelia, btw, is a ghost. She was drowned, but she doesn't know how because she has Repressed Memory subplot. It's pretty cool if I do say so myself. :D
Anyway, onto other matters:
NaNoWriMo started on Saturday! :D That means I am now in the process of writing an epic 50,000 word novel about whatever I happen to want to write about. So far, I think my story is pretty interesting. (which isn't saying much because I JUST started. I have like...254 words. xD Pathetic, I know.) Anyhow, I suggest you all go to NaNoWriMo and check it out! It's definitely the place to go for all the wannabe writers out there. :D Plus: Celeb Pep Talk from Phillip Pullman this week! YAY! I love the "His Dark Materials" series! I don't care what other people say about the books being about "killing God". I still think they are fantastically written and wildly entertaining. That's good enough for me.
But, I need to go to bed now so that I'm not zombified tomorrow!
HAPPY NANOWRIMO!
~Maddie
NaNoWriMo Website
No comments:
Post a Comment